Bakeries in SF

I have a guest coming from London to visit me here in SF later this week who has a major sweet tooth and loves good coffee. I am relatively new to SF myself so I would love your recommendations that are truly special! Even that feature special desserts from any culture is welcome! Here is my current list:

B Patisserie (LOVE this place)
Tartine
Craftsman and Wolves
Mr Holmes Bakehouse (to take somewhere else…)
Arsicault (can you sit inside? I’ve only read about it here, but haven’t been yet)

Thanks in advance! :slight_smile:

The jasper hill farm cheesecake at In Situ (museum of modern art ), originally from Tickets in Barcelona
Arsicault has just a couple small tables

1 Like

Those are all good choices. Maybe check out Golden Gate Bakery in Chinatown for some egg custard tarts if they are open (they are on vacation a lot - http://www.is-the-golden-gate-bakery-open-today.com ).

Anyone been to Jane on Larkin? Their pastry chef’s Instagram feed looks pretty great.

Your guest may or may not have a notion of “good coffee” that corresponds to Third Wave brews. At any event, stop at XOX Truffles in North Beach and order a cup of Graffeo Coffe (my idea of good coffee and roasted just across the street) and get a free truffle with it.

Also in North Beach, Brioche Bakery on Columbus, which flies under the radar, puts out as good a baguette as you will find anywhere in SF.

I don’t recall any seating at Arsicault other than a single table outside.

And if he/she is in town long enough to get homesick, go to John Campell’s Irsh Bakery for scones, Irish soda bread or a Belfast Bap breakfast sandwich.

2 Likes

Good list!

20th Century Cafe for the Russian Honey Cake
Neighbor Bakehouse for pistachio croissant
Mr. Bread for an egg custard tart
Dandelion Chocolate for tasting and souvenirs
Tartine Manufactory (shorter line, better seating situation, and they can sample savory stuff as well)