Asbury Park Shake Up

Fish and Cibo e Vino apparently ceased operations this week. Story below. Anyone have any insight?

According to Next Door (a hyper-local site where you have to register using your name and street address), both restaurants were closed today–on one day’s notice. While I doubt they had no clue until now, the word on ND is that Sackman, which owns a bunch of property in AP, including a year-old favorite of mine (House of Independents), wanted to double the rent and the couple that owns these restaurants couldn’t/wouldn’t pay that much. Johnny Mac’s is bringing in two newcomers. @NotJrvedivici do you know the real scoop?

As an AP resident, I appreciate the fact that bringing people in to town helps our city, but I don’t think we need MORE bars full of 20-somethings. We can always use more GOOD restaurants.

Nope I got nada. Fish has been there since 2010? Really? All I know is my one visit there was less than exceptional, but not bad either. For a place that has been around 6 years it was still a little rough around the edges, like still trying to find itself.

All I can say from a business perspective, if you are leasing a space you know when your lease is up, you generally start negotiating terms of a new lease 12-24mos prior to the expiration of your current lease. The fact these places just closed, giving their staff same day notice indicates they have no intention of re-opening. They would have secured a new location and simply closed and moved, not doing things like this.

Thanks… I agree that one day’s noticed seemed questionable. I’ll admit that I haven’t eaten at either restaurant simply because I had heard they were just okay (except for Cibo’s happy hour, which I hear was a good value). Since I posted on here, someone on Next Door chimed in to say that she heard the owners want to move to Turks & Caicos, so until we get the facts, we just don’t have them.