Any tricks to making pelmeni or pierogi ?

I’m planning on making one or the other tomorrow . I will make some with potato and cheese filling and some with meat filling . I was wondering about making the dough . I don’t have a stand mixer . Could I use a food processor for making the dough or is it better to do it by hand ? What do you fill yours with ? Thanks

Since this is my first time making them I have been scouring online recipes . A couple recipes use milk in the dough recipe and others use just water . Anybody familiar with the difference ? I am leaning to make pierogi .

Water if you are using meat…a little milk and water if you are using only potato…made them on my grandmother’s porcelain table in the early 1960’s

1 Like

Meat ground up with chuck and onion are called "kerplach’…potato with onion , mashed up are “Verenke”
After you make the kreplach let them cool…then warm them up in a scalding pan of chicken fat…serve warm.
The verenke…saute them in butter, until they brown on the outside…

Thanks for the great knowledge PHREDDY . My father would make these . Being of Lithuanian descent . I have not had them in eons . I would like to make the " kerplach ." Meat ground up with chuck and onion . Is there ground pork mixed in ? I might make some " Verenke " also .

Here’s the recipe I use. Good luck!

Serves 4 people, and will work if you double the recipe.

Mrs. Janiec’s Pierogi:

Ingredients:
1| 1 1/2 tsp. kosher salt
2| 1/2 cup cold water
3| 1-2 eggs
4| 3 1/2 cups flour (17.5 oz.), sifted
5| 1/2 cup warm water, near boiling see http://www.chowhound.com/post/quick-chinese-dumpling-advice-1007063?commentId=9556964
6| 1 1/2 tbs. butter, melted

To make dough: Place flour in a large bowl and thoroughly mix in salt. In a measuring cup, combine the eggs and 1/2 cup of cold water, and beat well with a fork. Add those ingredients to flour and mix with your hands until blended.