What makes a good poutine? [Ontario]

Montrealers, I have a question for you connoisseurs of poutine. I am no expert when it comes to poutine. A branch of Smoke’s Poutinerie has opened up in Berkeley, California. Smoke’s as I understand it, is a chain from Ontario.

Now, to my untrained poutine palette, Smoke’s is rather bland and not very good, and I suspect, is doing poutine the dish no justice by slapping the ‘poutine’ name on their dishes.

In your fine city, what are some of the criteria that make certain poutine dishes a good version? Is it preferable to stick with the standard version or the plethora ‘gourmet’ versions that have all the fancy ingredients?

Merci!

Hey!

A good poutine is at the same time simple and complicated. The best poutine is still the standard version. If someone can’t make a good standard poutine he should not bother trying to make a fancy one. The standard poutine has to have the following elements:

Good fries

Good fries are the base of the poutine. To me they have to be double-fried using, preferably, peanut oil. They have to be crisp enough on the outside to withstand the sauce but steamed and creamy inside. I like them golden and slightly sweet. Looks roughly like this:

Good sauce

That is the most contentious element of the poutine. All fries enthusiasts have their version of favourite fries and most poutine amateurs can come to an agreement to the elements leading to the best cheese to use but the best sauce leads to pretty strong discussions.