What does SGV have that SFBA does not?

Hello Folks, I’m brand new to HO even though I’ve been quietly watching on the sidelines on CH for years (like maybe 10 +). I’m visiting from SFBA to SGV this Sunday and was wondering if there are spots I should not miss… what SGV does well or what it has that SFBA does not (in terms of Asian cuisines). And please we can skip DTF for the XLB; I do love XLB but I’ve had the real deal in Taipei. I might have a chance to hop over to Westminister too during some part of my trip.

Will be staying near Disneyland for the trip - oh my tongue and tummy are already grumbling skeptically about the 2 days in the park w/ its lackluster dining options.

Thanks!

Welcome to Hungry Onion!

Do you get down to the South Bay much? I’m really curious to hear a one-to-one comparison between some of the South Bay’s better regional chinese restaurants and the top ones in SGV. I asked a question similar to yours on CH right before it imploded, but didn’t get a lot of specific feedback. One person mentioned a Lucky Peach dumpling crawl that you might be able to create a local analogue to, but the SGV one sounds good!

I’ve only been to SGV twice, and some of the things I ate that had no equal here are:

• The chicken rack in cumin sauce at Shen Yang in San Gabriel (there are other locations, might not be as good) is amazing, and an umami/salt bomb. There’s only one SFBA place that has that, and it doesn’t come close. I had a mixed experience with some of their other Northeastern Chinese dishes, but thought their Shenyang “marinated pork bone” was great, and their braided Chinese doughnut better than one I had at a South Bay restaurant.