UK court to consider if veganism is a "philosophical belief" akin to a religion

The story from the BBC.

(Mods - please feel free to delete this if you consider the subject matter to be too close to the “no politics” rule. I know it isnt politics but…)

Yep, saw it this morning. Wouldn’t want to touch this one with a barge pole.

Its never about what its about.

2 Likes

What an odd story. It certainly doesn’t sound like he was fired for being vegan, but rather for telling colleagues about their employer’s investments. Which doesn’t really sound like “gross misconduct” - shouldn’t people have the right to know where their pension money is coming from? As a college student, I demonstrated against my university’s investments in South Africa during apartheid, so what this guy did looks like garden-variety ethical behavior to me.

1 Like

Interesting. Given that veganism isn’t merely a “dietary choice” but a much broader philosophical outlook, as it applies to this particular case, I don’t see what it has to do with “food” at all… But that aside, I’m wondering if the court has actually agreed to decide this specific question, or will. In the US, it would generally be considered irrelevant unless the court found as a threshold matter that the plaintiff was in fact fired because of his veganism… Particularly since the defendant apparently isn’t contesting the question whether veganism is a “philosophical belief system” within the meaning of the relevant statute. Do UK courts decide uncontested questions of law these days? (Which is unthinkable under traditional common law principles.) Who’s gong to be arguing the other side of that question? Are there other parties to the case the article doesn’t mention? WIll the Government being weighing in on that question? Or… ?