Trimming overgrown tomato plants??

Our son moved into a home a year ago and a few small (then) tomato plants went wild through the summer and fall. They produced loads of 1" or so cheery tomatoes. Now they are pretty much dried out at their bases but have lots of green further out and even new flowers even in the recent SoCal cold. I have limited experience with tomato plants so I’d appreciate some help for him.

Should he trim these things partially all the way back, or just leave them on their own? The green portions look really healthy.

Leave them . Winter time , lucky you .

This happened to us a couple years ago. Suddenly our dead tomato plants we hadn’t bothered to clear in the back of the garden grew shoots and blossoms. We ended up with some nice winter tomatoes. (Los Angeles, I’m not sure where your son is.)

Tell him to leave them and see what happens.

Tomatoes are vines- they grow from the ends so don’t cut them off. What he can do if he wants to is bury part of the stem so the green part is sticking out of the ground like a new plant but leave it attached to the original plant until it grows new roots from the buried part of the stem. Then, after a month or so when new growth is apparent, cut it from the mail stem. I do this every year in Fall pto prolong my season here in So Cal. Whether it will make it until Spring depends on where in SoCal he lives and if it gets frosts there.

Tomatoes are what is called “weak perennials”. In the right climate they can grow for up to around three years, sometimes more, but usually get weaker each year and produce less. A strong, healthy plant may be diseased, but can fight it off with no problems, but as they start a new year, are weaker and the disease that formerly didn’t bother them, can take over. Also, the disease can then spread to other plants from the diseased one. That’s why commercial growers start new ones each year.