Trader Joe's being hammered by recalls?

Disclaimer: I’m a Trader Joe’s shopper (and fervent fan).

I’m sure many of the correspondents here on HO are aware of the recalls issued by the company thus far in 2016…

http://www.traderjoes.com/announcements

What is your personal take on these “problems”?

The spate of recalls this month is from a single vegetable supplier, mostly frozen vegetables. I subscribe to an FDA recall/warning list, and dozens of retail products were recalled, not just from TJs. In fact, I don’t think I got an alert for TJ products.

1 Like

Like their blog post says, they err on the side of caution. I don’t fault them for that. I’d rather them issue 10 voluntary recalls and be cautious as opposed to someone getting sick because of a a contaminated ingredient. TJs relies on it’s suppliers to provide the ingredients they use. The products aren’t being contaminated due to negligence or irresponsibility on TJ’s part – there are possible issues on the suppliers’ side.

Most of the recalls don’t bother nor affect me anyways, like undisclosed egg in a dressing, or forgetting to print a peanut product warning on a label.

3 Likes

Yes. Many, many grocery stores were effected.

And remember that listeria, which can be fatal to fetuses, isn’t usually bad for healthy adults.

The “err on the side of caution” is complete BS and is completely within the “Emperor’s New Clothes” business model of TJ. What were they going to say, “Oh crap we have another recall issue…oops.”

The locations I have been to have been a bunch of frozen food with very little fresh anything.

I am glad they stepped up and acted like an adult but the glitter will fall off this chain soon enough. Can you say Chipotle Grill?

Wow, that’s too bad, j. Maybe cause we’re on the Left Coast that’s definitely not the case. The fresh fruit and vegetables alone take up as much space as the froze. Not to mention everything else. Boo hoo.

1 Like