Tony Luke's opening in Houston

From Eater Houston

I totally missed any advance notice of this. Pappa Geno’s has been my go to for cheesesteaks (always telling them to omit the mayo, which has no business on a cheesesteak).

But I’ll be looking forward to this and to the roast pork sandwich which I’ve heard a lot about.

1 Like

Hey JCOstiones, this appears to be right in front of your HEB. Looking forward to your report.

Alright! I’ll just wait until the next time HEB puts shrimp on special to go to Tony Luke’s.

This is awesome! Finally something new on the west side. I’ve heard the Chinese buffet over there near Specs and Burger Shack called Hunan Chef I think, is best in town too. Or so someone raved recently.

I went to that Hunan Chef once. I’m not an expert on Chinese buffets but I’d go back. It’s got a huge variety. Tip: take a couple of minutes to walk around and see all that’s available before you start filling your plate. I didn’t and I regretted it when I saw some of the things others at my table were having and then decided to stroll thru the whole place.

Very friendly staff and very reasonable.

We’ll try it out once the grand opening jitters shake out. I saw the article about it and the wifeacita at first wanted to go but it was Friday the 21st the opening day so we vetoed it and went to Papa Geno’ which was delicious, como siempre.

3 Likes

Eric Sandler, on the job. I wonder if they’d take out the peppers. And what kinda cheese is on this one.

Reviews on Yelp are middling. I still want to try it, though.

The wifeacita and I will take one for the team, just not sure when. We ate Papa Geno’s last week so we’ve had our cheesesteak fix.

Tony’s Luke’s must be as good or better or we will gladly take the longer drive to the almost Heights.

1 Like

After being totally stressed by such a stressful Sunday shopping at MY HEB the Wifeacita and I grabbed a sandwich from Tony Luke’s.