Spaghetti-O Pie Thanks to This Guy

[https://www.eater.com/2021/5/11/22430383/why-are-gross-viral-food-videos-popular-rick-lax-facebook-watch

5 Likes

During my days as a struggling college student, I remember eating canned spaghetti. I was 4 cans for $1… now that stuff was “GROSS”

SpaghettiOs actually tasted good compared to that canned spaghetti.

gives a face to the jingle ‘uh-oh spagetti-ohs’. never understood that campaign. although considering the ad it still lodged in my brain, the Madison ave. pitchmen clearly won that battle.

3 Likes

Never had the pleasure of canned spaghetti, but I remember when I was a kid it was a popular item with folks who worked too hard for too little money.

1 Like

Don’t seek it out… When something makes oodles of noodles seem like a gourmet meal, stay far away!!

If I was having a good month (financially), I would pop for the Banquet “boil a bag” dinners. Creamed chip beef and salisbury steak were my favorites (back then). You boiled the bag, then poured the contents over a slice of bread. I don’t know when they stopped making those.

2 Likes

I have been saving this can for a special occasion. It was given to me .

5 Likes

Is that red in the background a good pairing for it? :grinning:

2 Likes

That’s on my power outage shelf. When those items need rotating out, I sautee some onions, add jarred Ragu sauce and the can contents, cover with cheese, and bake. Not bad when doctored thusly but of course if there’s no power, that’s not an option.

1 Like

I picked up a butane camp stove (under $20) and used that during the last power outage. Technically you are not supposed to use them inside, but I didn’t have it on long enough to affect the air in my home.
I just boiled some pasta and opened a jar of Ragu. A cheap battery powered headlamp made for easy preparation. Not my best effort, but it was a hot meal.

2 Likes