somerville union square farmers market... [MA]

does anyone have any information about the saturday union square farmers market? their page on the union square main street site only says it’s scheduled to run from 16 may to 21 november. but no vendors are listed. and the last posting on their facebook page is from 6 april, looking for a market manager.

i sent an email earlier this week, but haven’t heard back. would appreciate any info.

1 Like

I don’t think they know yet, but I have no insider knowledge. It depends on when and how the shutdown ends, for one thing. They are probably trying to figure out if they can open it with preorders and social distancing pick ups like the Somerville winter farmers market at the armory was doing, or some version of what the farmers are doing at Bow Market now, and if the vendors will be able to get there.

You can sign up here for the Union Square newsletter.
https://www.unionsquaremain.org/

i am on the email list. and i’m sure you’re right, but since the 16th is only a couple of weeks away, an update — even to say that they’re still trying to sort things out — would be nice.

2 Likes

The Stangl farmers market is open every Saturday morning 9-3. All of my other markets are closed or open on a very limited scale
The bread guy at Stangl is excellent.

Hahaha - there’s Somerville market here in nj so ignore the above.

2 Likes

update: heard back, and according to the new market manager,

“ we will be reconfiguring so that the Market is in compliance with public health mandates and social distancing policies. In order to properly prepare, we will be opening the Market on May 23, instead of the 16 this year.”

4 Likes

Thanks for the update. Slightly peripherally, this is what the Belmont Farmer’s Market says in an email:

A few of the changes we expect to implement this season are:

Expand footprint of the market to allow social distancing
Encourage preorder and prepay options