Smoked Out BBQ [Santa Clara]

Wonderful lunch today. I got the 3 meat combo: chicken, pork ribs and fatty beef brisket with chili and sweet beans ($20). I tried 2 of the sauces, the spicy was especially well made. The brisket makes me really happy, great bark and succulent bite. I’ve been smoking my own bbq for many years, this is hard to do right. Classic joint, counter service, 21 seats, lunch only, Tuesday - Friday. (They also have a truck.)

I’m already planning my next trip, need to try the oxtail poutine tater tots!

[www.smokedoutbbq.net]

7 Likes

Wow! That is a great looking platter for 20 bucks! Any clue what woods they use for each meat?

1 Like

High praises. Thanks for sharing. Do you know what they smoke their meat in? Better than Smoking Pig?

I keep bringing up Smoking Pig not because its stellar, but rather its the relatively decent option among the sea of q mediocrity around.

1 Like

Nope, that’s on my short list of questions for my return trip. Also curious about they use for a smoker.

Understand your comment re Smoking Pig and share your lack of enthusiasm. I have been there maybe six times over the years and have been willing to accept it for much the same reason. Smoke Out seems to be a step above in regard to the bbq, but, limits on hours and location might make it challenging for them to succeed,

The owner tells me that they burn oak & mesquite and the smoker is Ole Hickory.

I haven’t seen the kitchen, yet. I’ll do so soon.

1 Like

How’s the business when you were there?

well attended, 21 seat dining room was 3/4 full, not packed, but seemed reasonable.

1 Like