Salamanca: Ment, En la Parra or elsewhere? Plus tapas recs

I always enjoy evening strolls in Salamanca and the city alone is a reason to visit. Food wise, I’ve liked Vinodiario for great and interesting wines by the glass and some very good tapas.

But we haven’t had any great experiences. A lot of attention on a new modern place Ment which quickly got Repsol and Michelin attention but polarizing review.

En La Parra has been around for a while and seems like a comfortable but excellent tasting menu on a Sunday afternoon.
Any thoughts on either of these or another option to consider?

Also would appreciate insights on tapas places to try.

Salamanca is indeed a wonderful city (I studied there).
I have En la Parra at the top of my “must try” list.

Lately there have been more tapas/gastro bars getting recognition from Repsol and the gastro critics I follow.

In addition to Vinodiario, you should try Tapas 3.0 if you haven’t already.

Tapas 3.0: recommended by Michelin & Repsol for their tortilla (“best tortilla in Salamanca province” award.

Oro Viejo gastro bar gets a nod from Repsol as well.

Also El Mesón de Gonzalo (recommended by Maribona in ABC and 1 Repsol sun) for their Carrasco label Iberian ham from Guijuelo. Many of the best tapas bars in Spain are now serving Carrasco as their house brand of Iberian ham.

Another Maribona and Repsol recommendation: El Alquimista

Thanks, Maribel. This looks great for a Saturday night tapas crawl. Will decide on Ment vs En la Parra and report back. Similar situation to Toqha with super polarizing reviews. I think we are leaning toward Toqha in Puerto and so maybe we will select en la Parra for Salamanca.

En la Parra has received very solid reviews from the professional critics that I trust. For my next visit (soon, I hope), I will head straight to En la Parra.

Maribona’s favorite Salamanca province restaurant is Don Fadrique in Alba de Tormes, if you happen to go by on your way to the city. One Repsol sun.