Restaurant Recommendations

How do you go about recommending a restaurant to a friend? (local, visiting, really any friend…)

1 Like

Welcome, @imuss! For context, what’s the reason for your question?

Sometimes people are simply making pleasant conversation and other times they have a specific purpose behind their inquiry—so it helps the community here to understand why someone is asking. :blush:

2 Likes

Thanks for the welcome, Denise! I’m mostly curious about how other people approach the process and what makes it tricky/easier. I’ve been thinking about ways to make it easier to send people recs, and think it’s important to understand how people go out the process now :slight_smile:

Curious if you are a UX researcher by any chance, or researching a project or product? I ask because folks here have wanted to know that when they decide to respond.

Sorry, what does “UX” ( Researcher ) signify ?

I am a publishing journalist so I am always researching valid data on one thing or another.

2 Likes

Oh gotcha. Not in any formal way? I’m working on a product but not for a big company/UX team, etc. Hope that helps

2 Likes

Hi @Barca! In the digital (online) world of publishing, UX means “user experience.” I should have spelled that one out!

And for anyone who may be curious: Web teams in larger organizations will have UX researchers who investigate what people need from a particular type of page or a website, so that it can be designed and written to meet those needs.

2 Likes

I moved this to Culture board.

3 Likes

Welcome to the forum, Isabel

I have two sorts of friends - those in real life and e-friends who I know through, say, forums.