Ramen vending machine, anybody tried it?

Wondering how good (bad) they are…

In Japan, and now at the Metreon in SF.

1 Like

Lol, this makes me want to fly up to SF, just to try the ramen machine at the airport.

Interesting idea. However, I think it will be a small market though.

My first thought was college campuses, right next to the coffee machines.

I don’t know. When I was a postdoc, I walked by a new Little Caesar place, and it had this huge line. I mean like 1+ hour wait long line. Everyone was smiling and all happy. After inquiring what was going on, I found out that it was a promotion day for free pizza. Therefore, a free slice of pizza for more than an hour wait. Tons of college students here… I guess you know what I am trying to get to…

In general, I think college students have plenty time and not a lot of money – except those Ivy League colleges. This vending machine concept actually works the opposite manner. Not particular cheap, but very fast (45 seconds), so I think what you said about airport make sense. People in the airport do not want to wait for 30-45 min for a bowl of ramen and half of the time, their companies pay for the meal as travel expense.

1 Like

I’m curious as to how these machines will be restocked with the “fresh” ingredients needed for this ramen… will someone actually attend the machine daily to restock the fresh noodles/meat/produce that is needed? Or by fresh they mean it’s frozen or fresh and vacuum packed…? The logistics puzzle me.
And i dunno that college kids will want a fancy ramen if odds are there’s already a lot of instant ramen in their lives- i know when i was in college and decided to spend more than $2 on a meal i wanted something totally different from my day to day meals i made myself

11 dollars for a vending machine meal. I’m about ready to fall asleep. Did I read that correctly?

I wonder what temp these are served at. I need to read it again but those are my two questions :slight_smile:

1 Like