Please help my compost bin!

I’ve been composting for a few years. its the 2.5’ x 2.5’ x 2.5’ black bin with holes on the side. The mystery i am trying to solve is:

• The pile doesn’t seem to grow. Doesn’t matter if i throw all my veggie and fruit scraps there, it just doesn’t seem to get much bigger. is there anything that eats decaying food? i didn’t see any tunnels into the ground underneath the bin. rats?
  • It doesn’t seem to compost. i was told the stuff turns into black gold with time. there doesn’t seem to be any of that even at the bottom of the pile. disclosure: i am lazy and never turn and prepare the pile. i just let it sit. when i put the stuff from the pile into the beds each year, it still looks like decaying food, vs compost.
  • fruit flies like the pile. yes its in the back of the yard, but its a bit annoying when opening the bin. Any solutions?

Thanks and please help my pile!

go to a coffee shop with a 5 gallon plastic bucket and ask them to give you heaps of coffee grounds. add that to the compost, and turn the pile. your pile will transform rapidly to compost.

and make sure it’s wet. best to keep the compost out of direct sun. It should feel like a damp sponge.

the volume of decomposed vegetative matter is roughly 600:1

that it’s “disappearing” is an indication your compositing pile is actually doing its thing.
it’s good news, really!

I don’t turn mine, worry or fret, either. after a couple years I move it and the dirt below is a dark rich organic loamy stuff. the worms/etc come in from the bottom and work it down into the top layer of the soil - that takes 2-3 years.

stuff not decomposing into “where’d it all go?” indicates a problem not indicated by your first paragraph. lack of air/oxygen slows composting down. too much moisture makes for slime vs. compost. you might want to try leaving the lid off.