Pineapple Upside Down Cake…

Last one I did was a mess. Did it in a cast iron pan with cardamom (via a chef John vid)… hated the cardamom, and the texture was more like cornbread than cake.

Got a fresh, ripe pineapple I need to process. Much of it will go in the freezer for breakfast smoothies, but want to use some of it for a cake (in a cake pan as opposed to cast iron).

What is your fav recipe/method for this pup?

1 Like

I’ve been using this recipe for many years. It’s delicious.

I bake it in a cake pan, not a cast iron skillet.

2 Likes

Thanks! Don’t have the pineapple juice… so how 'bout just throwing some pineapple in the vitamix with a bit of water and nuk’ing it?

It sounds like that would work. You’d need to strain it.

Why?

The pineapple juice in cans doesn’t include pulp.

I get it, but make pineapple smoothies in the VM all the time and the pulp is almost non-discernible. Any reason this would affect the baking of the cake (or maybe even make it better)?

I haven’t used puréed pineapple, so I don’t know if it would work differently.

I’ll give it a try this weekend and report back. Not that I am so lazy as to avoid cleaning a strainer, but am just curious. I mean big apple chunks make for an amazing apple cake, so maybe I won’t even blend the pineapple too fine.

It isn’t upside down cake, but pineapple dump cake made with shredded pineapple is pretty yummy. You can use canned crushed pineapple as a sub.

Sorry for the delay… this turned out pretty well. I sub’d bourbon for rum (not a big fan of rum), and fresh pineapple with a splash of water (Vitamixed) for the pineapple juice, and did it in a pyrex pie plate.

Taste was good (as opposed to Chef John’s cardamom laced junk), but wasn’t all that happy with the cakiness of the cake (too heavy and dry).

Unfortunately I am not an experienced cake baker and have to admit mine often miss the mark on texture, and this was definitely the case here.