[Penang] Modern-Penang cuisine at De' Secret Kitchen, MacAlister Road

One-year-old De’ Secret Kitchen sees a self-taught & talented young chef, Joe Lee, providing a private dining experience to customers with an adventurous palate. As Penang is better-known for its street/hawker food culture, rather than restaurant or fine dining, we didn’t think of exploring this place till last night. It turned out to be a rather pleasant experience, where earnest service staff made sure we were comfortable, with quietly efficient service, and a train of interesting, inventive creations by owner-chef, Joe Lee, who personally explained each course as they are served.

No menu here - it’s an “omakase” where the chef utilises the freshest ingredients of the day to produce his creations. What we had last night:

Water calthrop
These are quite unusually-shaped seasonal nuts from Taiwan, boiled and served at the start of the meal. The meats inside reminds one of chestnuts, and went well with wine. It’s BYO here.

Tiger prawns on pickled cucumber & celery, topped with cucumber sorbet & toasted sesame seeds
The first appetiser course was served chilled and was quite refreshing.

Sous-vide egg with amaranth seeds, roasted mushroom & truffle oil
Brought out in an attractive little Moroccan tagine, this second appetiser course was light, verging almost on the bland side. The amaranth seeds provide crunch, and also lent a nutty flavour to the overall dish.

"Bak kut teh" pork belly with poached egg
The pork belly was also cooked sous-vide, giving it a “firm jelly” texture. I’d have actually preferred the traditional, old-style braised pork method, where the fatty parts of the pork would melt in one’s mouth - but then, it wouldn’t be in keeping with this establishment’s aim to provide a “different” taste experience by re-imagining traditional Penang & Chinese dishes and serve them in new ways.