Paris Cider, cookbooks and other weird hobbies

I’m a hobbyist cider/poire maker :slight_smile: I marked the two branches of La Cidrerie but not sure if they are cider bars to drink there or have possiblity to purchase bottles, as i’m looking for, i guess they do have that… So would be glad to get info on shops or supermarkets that might offer an unusal selection of Ciders, not just the traditional makers, but also more modern small scale French and orher euro cideries…
And weak spot for cookbooks, especially the big ones by chefs, apart from librairie gourmande, are there more places to check that might have a surpring inventory ?
And sorry for bringing a non food related hobby, my wife is an avid puzzles collector so if by chance someone here shares this same weird love and knows about interesting small shops in the city for that, would be great to know, Thanks !

If you’re into ciders, your best choice is Breizh Café (particularly the more spacious Odéon location) which has been specializing in ciders for years. They even opened a cider bar in Tokyo, and they have one in Saint-Malo with 60 references of ciders and poirés on their list. The list in Paris does not have such a wide choice, I’d say twenty to thirty, but it’s worth browsing.
They particularly have the ciders and poirés from Eric Bordelet, but since you know the subject matter, you must already have tried those.

1 Like

Thanks, not sure we will eat there this time, but if so i for sure will pay closer attention to the cider list there. I’m surprised to know that they opened a cider bar at Tokyo :slight_smile:

Most book stores have a cookbook section, but unlike Libririe Gourmande that is totally dedicated to cookbooks. Try Fnac in Paris, Mollat in Bordeaux. Also, look out for the sales section or second hand bookstores (eg Gilbert Joseph), sometimes they have some interesting finds, and some discount chef coffee cookbooks.