Old Bukhara (Uzbek) - Freehold

New restaurant opening in the space occupied for many years by Valentino’s on Rt. 9 North (same strip mall as Central Jersey Pools). From Yelp page:

Meet the Business Owner

Me and my partner (Umidjon) are schoolmates. Life is such an unpredictable thing. Having finished the high school in Uzbekistan we haven’t seen each other for almost 15 years. And finally we ended up meeting again in United States in 2017. All this years Umidjon has been working as a chef cook in Malta where he learned some great skills. I was a soccer journalist and coach. Last couple years have been in a car sales! Yes, car sales. With a great company DCH. So we set down and came up with a most risky idea out there: Open a restaurant!

https://www.theoldbukhara.com/menu

So HO’s, who’s gonna be first?

4 Likes

I nominate @BossaNova and @MishyPoo :grin:

1 Like

So we tried it already, 2 weeks ago, the first weekend they were open.

We started with 2 soups, the shurva (lamb and vegetables) and the chuchvara (meat dumplings in broth). Both were very good. The dumplings were better than Shirin but the broth is better at Shirin.

We then split Bahur salad, tomato, cucumber, green apple and avocado with a lemon dressing that was excellent.

For entrees we had a lamb kabob which was very good and Tabaka (Uzbek fried chicken) which was not very good. We received a whole chicken cut up which is nice value for the money but it was greasy and not well seasoned, we didn’t eat much of it.

We skipped dessert but they sounded good and are made in house.

The owner was very nice and seemed to take our feedback (good and bad) seriously. We will return for another try because most of the food was good and it was only the first weekend they were open. I was going to wait for a second visit to post but somebody nominated me to post now.

5 Likes

Did the lamb have any decent charcoal flavor? It says they cook over charcoal so that is a huge plus for me.