Nexus

Can you please expound? One reason I ask is that I like to bring back OTC meds, which the CBP formulary allows Americans re-entering USA to bring in a 30-day supply. Is that somehow disallowed for NEXUS holders? I guess what I’m curious about is: What additional food or drug prohibitions are there for NEXUS holders that don’t apply in the “regular” lanes?

1 Like

I’ve no experience with meds. We like to go to the large Asian groceries when possible. But generally they don’t allow most produce, most meats. That is what I would’ve brought back. The thing with nexus, which they probably told you at your interview, is know what you can’t do and don’t do it. They will revoke your pass if you violate that. So since their regs are not the clearest as to what you CAN bring, we erred on the side of caution and brought back only a couple of bottled and sealed sauces.

The rules are the same regardless of what lane you are in.

That’s good to know.

I knew about meat, since we were once forced to toss (probably straight into the booth operator/inquisitor’s lunch bag) a nice piece of leftover steak.

I’ve found that the Do/Don’t thing is a morass of uncertainty, and even the booth jockeys don’t have very good knowledge. Last year, we 'fessed to bringing back one OTC med, and the booth guy said “I don’t think you’re allowed that”, but let us pass nonetheless. In the runup to our interviews, I looked up the CBP permitted formulary, and nope, there it was: a 30-day supply of that drug is permitted. So in future I’m keeping a copy of the formulary in the car.

I believe that not knowing what is/isn’t permitted just tempts many travelers to lie and conceal. And apparently risk NEXUS revocation.