Making Dining Reservations during a Pandemic

Hi y’all! My names Christian and I’m a UX Designer currently working on improving the process for making dining reservations. Of course, with the ongoing pandemic, people are dining out a lot less and ordering in instead. Many restaurants have adapted to the times by offering outdoor seating and enforcing social distances within their spaces. However, a key part to make this effective is also making those options known and easily accessible. I’m hoping to develop a product that can service both customers and restaurants, making dining out options both safe and readily available, considering we still don’t know when things will return to normal.

If you’re interested, I would greatly appreciate if you can spare 2-3 minutes of your time to fill out this survey! :grin: https://forms.gle/cCWBJ6d9ArGj6fdf8

I think this may be a tricky one for you. Are you intending this to be a new product to compete with the likes of OpenTable, ResDiary, etc? Or an add-on to try and sell to those companies. Either way - good luck.

I think the tricky bit will come from designing a product which fits for differing jurisdictions. The regulations applying to restaurants may be different where I am in the world, from where you are in the world. If you were hoping to develop a product for, say, OpenTable then that company operates across many countries. I use the company not only at home but find it a great benefit when I’m planning to make a reservation at a restaurant in a country that may be several time zones away, or where I may struggle to communicate in the local language.