Mabrouk, Paris 75003

Has anyone been to this newish Jewish Tunisian place?

Never heard of it. And the local tom-toms don’t give many clues other than it has a younger hip vibe (not unexpected in the Arts-et-MĂ©tiers quartier), “pas mal” but not exceptional quality.
I am not sure what prompted you to single out Mabrouk among the hundreds of Tunisian restos in Paris, but maybe the start of an interesting discussion.

I’ve looked at the menu of Mabrouk and it seems rather standard Tunisien, rather than “Jewish-Tunisian”. I’m no expert though. I have only been to one now closed Tunisien-Jewish resto in the 17th for my dentist’s birthday. (A BTW, lots of dentists in Paris seem to have Tunisian-Jewish roots). To me the food served there, promoted as trad Tunisien-Jewish fare, was indistinguishable from the Tunisian cuisine I had sampled in Tunisia and Paris. Only one dish, featuring artichokes, was unfamiliar and probably reflects the strong Italian and Italian Jewish presence in Tunisia for much of the 19th and first half of the 20th century. But I’m just guessing.

Of course, much of what is now Israeli cuisine seems to have been borrowed intact or is a variation of Tunisian/ North African, Levantine, etc food.

Cuing @Carmenere

I read about it in a Jewish paper, so it seemed like a good place to start. Heading that way in April w/my family. My son is 12 and loves cous, so
 My wife and I have been to Paris tons of times yet it’s been ages since I’ve had any North African in Paris so am searching for a tasty place.

1 Like