M. F. K. Fisher ~ The Art Of Eating

I’ve run several searches here with different spellings and punctuation but the only thing that came up was on a tuna melt thread. I’m finding that hard to believe. If I’m wrong please point me in the right direction. If not, we can talk about it here. This is my first time reading her, only a quarter way through the book and really liking it. Consider The Oyster was an eye opener and I can’t wait to get to How to cook a wolf. I gather it was controversial back then concerning British readers. Whatever that might involve .Good book So far.

4 Likes

I’m intrigued. I wonder what we found controversial. Maybe having to import a wolf? Still, we’re free of those difficult European Union health concerns now. So bring it on with roast wolf.

3 Likes

I enjoyed all of the Fisher books that I’ve read.

My favorite might be Serve it Forth.

As an aside, if I had to choose four guests for a dinner party, I think Fisher would have to be one of them.

1 Like

In my family we have a long tradition of speculating who we would invite to a “Celestial Banquet” when we have passed through St. Peter’s gates. Leonard Cheshire, Dietrich Bonhoeffer, Stormy Daniels and Gene Wilder would be among my current guest list.

Another part of the game is to compose a menu from dishes that you have actually eaten, recalling where and when. Scallops on a skewer with lemon and garlic on a bed of rice from L’Escale in St. Vaast in northern France, circa 1980 has always been my first course.

2 Likes

Are the people you decide on required to be ones who might conceivably have got along with each other at an earthly banquet? :slight_smile:

St. Brigid apparently had some quite specific suggestions for how she thought such a banquet ought to be run and who she’d invite. :slight_smile:

A sports “dream team” is easier because even if you select too many high-scoring prima donnas they’ll still probably win.