Lucas Kwan Peterson’s epic burn of NYTimes LA coverage

Hilarious, including ironic hyperlinks.

6 Likes

Is this an April’s fools day joke? (Serious question)

I didn’t get to the bottom, just stopped reading.

Apparently.
I kinda didn’t “get it”…? Maybe because I’m a new yorker?
Is it funny for LA people?

2 Likes

I stopped reading when Brooklyn was referred to as a suburb

2 Likes

I honestly thought it was a joke at first, but I read it again and I think this dude is serious. I’m scratching my head. :roll_eyes:

In my eyes SF blows LA away in the food game.

Can not be serious :roll_eyes:

1 Like

OK I’m going back to thinking this has to be a joke, but I don’t get the point. If I was a writer I wouldn’t want to be seen as a total hack for the sake of a joke article on April fools.

1 Like

Very funny— every time the NY Times profiles LA, or the Bay Area, they take a NY-chauvinistic, dismissive, or condescending “aren’t they precious trying to be NY” tone. They can be painful to read, especially when they dont fact check well. They’ve also, like in the boba story fiasco, shown ignorance of trends outside of European cuisines/cultures in their own hood. Read his links to NYTimes articles with that in mind—- he’s picked a bunch of face-palm worthy ones. He’s also sending up the tendency for food writers to use analogies catered to an assumed white audience.

5 Likes

Mission accomplished … it was obnoxious

:joy:

5 Likes