[Kuala Lumpur] Lunch at Leen's Middle East Kitchen

Leen’s Middle East Kitchen at the upper-middle-class Malay suburb of TTDI is the brainchild of Syrian head chef, Ameer Alzalek.

A couple of KL foodie friends had brought me here as I’d asked for the best Middle-Eastern in town. I was also told by others that Tarbush’s branch at the JW Marriott is the best, but that remains to be seen - we had to cancel our (very) advanced dinner reservation there as its timing clashed with the Michelin Guide to KL & Penang 2024’s gala dinner at the Four Seasons. I need to cover Tarbush the next time I come down to Kuala Lumpur.

Back to Leen’s, I was pleasantly surprised by how simple and spartan everything looked. But self-taught Ameer Alzalek’s cooking can best be described as Modern-Syrian: he updates and transforms Syrian dishes by introducing unexpected touches to the dishes, but without changing their traditional essence: roasting chickpeas to give his hummus a smokey lift; grinding his falafel finer, resulting in smooth-textured dumplings with crisp exteriors, and many other surprising little touches. It’s Syrian food as your grandmother would cook it if your grandmother is a Syrian Heston Blumenthal. :joy:

Our lunch consisted of:

1. Smoked Hummus, served with pita bread - the paprika red-tinged oil had an intense smokey scent and taste which elevated this dish beyond the ordinary. Served with warm, puffy pillows of pita bread, it was a meal in itself. Our lunch could’ve just stopped right here, and I’d still go off happy!

2. Haloumi Fattoush, with heirloom tomatoes, kyuri, haloumi, shaved radish, olives, parsley, croutons, spring onion oil dressing - this was perhaps the best fattoush I’d ever had: super-crisp Japanese kyuri cucumbers, crunchy croutons made from sourdough, roasted haloumi, sweet heirloom tomatoes - they all came together like a crazy symphony of flavours and textures that somehow worked.