Jiro style ramen

Hello friends! Popping in briefly from my usual lurker status to recommend a ramen shop I recently enjoyed:

Has anyone seen this style elsewhere in the Bay Area?

Most of the other copycat versions I’ve seen online—like this one—don’t quite look right.

10 Likes

Uh, well I’m no expert, but I’ve eaten my share of ramen in Japan since the early 90’s so I consider myself an enthusiast.
Ramen Taka’s specialty is Hakata style ramen, which effectively means a tonkotsu broth. Jiro style is based on a shoyu broth. The Jiro Tonkotsu Ramen that Taka offers seems to be a fusion of these 2 styles.
I haven’t tried it to date, but perhaps I will though that’s a lot of food for me. The target audience for that dish is poor and ravenous college students, which I’m not. I’m not big on nomihodai (all-you-can-drink) or tabehodai (all-you-can-eat) places in general, but I did have a surprisingly decent meal at a tabehodai place last time I went to Tokyo.

I don’t know of any other places that offer the Jiro style in San Jose, but I don’t get out much at present.

1 Like

I used to like their ramen quite a bit before the pandemic, and it was consistently crowded. The ramen was not quite Bay Area top tier but always solid. The past year I popped in. It was quite empty. We got three bowls of different styles, although i don’t think we got the Jiro style. All of them seemed to be off. Jiro or not. They should probably focus on fixing their core offerings versus trying to tackle Jiro style.

They are right next to Santa Clara University, though at $18 its not a small amount of money for a frugal Norcal college student.

1 Like

Haven’t been since the pandemic started so it’s interesting to know they may have slipped a bit. Thanks for the update.

Where do you get your ramen, and more generally, Japanese fix? How do those compared to the restaurants in Japan?

Good question.