henkubao.com: "China's Eight Great Regional Cuisines"

China has a ton of regional variation when it comes to food. Some of the tastiest and most popular regional cuisines come from 8 provinces: Anhui, Guangdong, Fujian, Hunan, Jiangsu, Shandong, Sichuan, and Zhejiang. They’re a mouthful to say, so someone thought it was a good idea to group them together and call them the “Eight Great Regional Cuisines”. As it turns out, the number “8” also happens to be the luckiest number in Chinese culture! But that’s a different story. Here we just want to provide a brief intro of the eight different provinces and their cuisines. So if you aren’t familiar with them or just want to learn more, go forth and scroll!

1 Like

Thanks for sharing the 8 major Chinese regional cuisine articles. Chinese cuisines can be categorized into the 4 major branches, or 8 major branches, or 10 major… or 12…etc. The 4 and the 8 branches are the two better known categorization.

In ancient time, the Shaodong 魯菜 branch is considered the first of all branches (e.g. most important). Probably not so anymore.

1 Like
“Food is a pretty good prism through which to view humanity.”

― Jonathan Gold

Market stall in Lima
Credit: TXMX 2