Fung Bros - Can Chinatown Be Saved?

from Eater NY:

Many dim sum chefs in Chinatown are in their 50s and 60s. It’s rare to see a young apprentice in the kitchen nowadays, says Eric Lee, the operations manager of Dim Sum Go Go on East Broadway.

Mastering dim sum can take a decade of training and practice, and apprentices have to work their way through each kitchen station: making rice rolls, steaming, frying, creating the fillings, wrapping dumplings, and mixing the dough. This lengthy process makes it a challenge to find new chefs.

1 Like

The Origin of CHINESE-AMERICAN Food (Northeast-Dongbei)

from YouTube -

Auntie Guans https://www.yelp.com/biz/auntie-guans…

Friendship BBQ https://www.yelp.com/biz/friendship-f… ZLS BBQ https://www.yelp.com/biz/zls-bbq-new-…

DM Restaurant https://www.yelp.com/biz/dm-restauran…

1 Like

I always end up starving after I watch one of these!

I started the video at the 2:31 mark because of an ad before it -

If you think we missed a spot check out our previous BOSTON CHINATOWN VIDEO: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eLJ9t….

0:50 -

4:40 Taiwan Cafe https://www.yelp.com/biz/taiwan-caf%C…

0:50 - 4:40

4:42 - 6:45 Genes’ Chinese Flatbread https://www.yelp.com/biz/genes-chines… 6:46 -

8:30 Peach Farm https://www.yelp.com/biz/peach-farm-b… 8:31 - [10:40]

(https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OGVY7n4-ezo&t=640s) Hing Shing Bakery https://www.yelp.com/biz/hing-shing-p… [10:42]

(https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OGVY7n4-ezo&t=642s) - 14:36 Hong Kong Eatery https://www.yelp.com/biz/hong-kong-ea…

14:37 - 15:54 - Ding Ho https://www.yelp.com/biz/ding-ho-rest… [15:55]

(https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OGVY7n4-ezo&t=955s) -

17:09 Corner Cafe Bakery https://www.yelp.com/biz/cafe-corner-… [17:56]

(https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OGVY7n4-ezo&t=1076s) - 20:02 Gourmet Dumpling House https://www.yelp.com/biz/gourmet-dump… 20:03 - 21:37 Moon and Flower House https://www.yelp.com/biz/moon-and-flo…

21:45 - 23:05 Great Taste Bakery https://www.yelp.com/biz/great-taste-… 23:04 - 25:08 Waku Waku https://www.yelp.com/biz/wakuwaku-boston

25:10 -

26:26 Clay Pot Rice https://www.yelp.com/biz/clay-pot-caf…

26:27 - 27:13 Teazzi https://www.yelp.com/biz/teazzi-tea-s…

27:15 - 30:00 Avana Sushi https://www.yelp.com/biz/avana-sushi-… 30:53 -

31:52 Ogawa Coffee https://www.yelp.com/biz/ogawa-coffee… [31:54]

(https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OGVY7n4-ezo&t=1914s) - 33:48 - Tora Ramen/33:49 -

34:29 Tora Japanese/Tora Sushi Bowl https://www.yelp.com/biz/tora-ramen-b… https://www.yelp.com/biz/tora-japanes…

34:35 - 35:52 Bao Bao Bakery and Cafe https://www.yelp.com/biz/bao-bao-bake…

37:12 - 37:35 Banh Mi Ok https://www.yelp.com/biz/banh-mi-ok-b… 37:35 -

39:59 Eldo Bakery https://www.yelp.com/biz/eldo-cake-ho…

3 Likes

Dun Huang https://www.yelp.com/biz/dunhuang-mis…

Bite of Xi’an https://www.yelp.com/biz/bites-of-xia…

Spicy Village https://www.yelp.com/biz/new-spicy-vi…

Fat Fat Flatbread https://www.yelp.com/biz/fat-cat-flat…

1 Like

thanks, like @TheLibrarian28 I also enjoyed this (“Al Roker Explores America’s Changing Chinatowns”).
two things from it: the longest running family-owned Chinese restaurant in the US (Pekin Noodle Parlor) is in Butte, Montana! and a young chef in New York (Lucas Sin) who’s signature dish is mapo mac & cheese!

2 Likes

from YouTube -

What do you think about the future of New York’s Chinatown?

Potluck Club

https://www.yelp.com/biz/potluck-club…

Cha Kee

https://www.yelp.com/biz/cha-kee-new-…

Hypebeast Cafe

https://www.yelp.com/biz/hbx-new-york…

New West Malaysia

https://www.yelp.com/biz/west-new-mal…

Jiang Nan

https://www.yelp.com/biz/jiang-nan-ne…

Ping’s

https://www.yelp.com/biz/pings-seafoo…

Uncle Lou

https://www.yelp.com/biz/uncle-lou-ne…

Hiyake Omakase

https://www.yelp.com/biz/hiyake-omaka…

1 Like

from YouTube -

RESTAURANTS WE WENT TO:

https://www.yelp.com/biz/fan-fried-ri…

https://www.yelp.com/biz/mission-sand…

https://www.yelp.com/biz/namkeen-new-…

https://www.yelp.com/biz/tori-bien-ne…

https://www.yelp.com/biz/patisserie-f…

https://www.yelp.com/biz/cha-an-new-york

https://www.yelp.com/biz/banh-mi-co-u…

https://www.yelp.com/biz/gongo-new-york

https://www.yelp.com/biz/birria-les-n…

2 Likes
Help cover Hungry Onion's costs when you shop at Amazon!

Sunday market in Ubud, Indonesia
Credit: Roozbeh Rokni, Flickr