Fung Bros - Can Chinatown Be Saved?

A little off topic, in my travels I am exposed to a lot of plastic forks, spoons, and knives. Not happy about that but carrying my own utensils through TSA is not going to work. Chopsticks on the other hand sail (ha!) right through. Poly, stainless steel, and ivory. I have a selection. grin

2 Likes

I ate with chopsticks for nearly two decades and prefer it but not all foods accommodate it.

1 Like

I just don’t eat those in transit. grin

2 Likes

new trends in Vietnamese food in New York -

1 Like

Andrew Fung in Palisades Park, New Jersey at Chinese- Korean and Korean spots:

1 Like

not Chinese but Vietnamese -

1 Like

Since the first segment in the video is about MEET FRESH and is sponsored, I skipped the video past it to about the 4:27 mark, though the introduction from :20 to :48: is of some interest.

1 Like

The segment on Korean Cajun fusion starts at the 11:42 mark

1 Like
1 Like

from YouTube:

These restaurants are coming straight from the motherland! Would you want to try them?

DOLAR SHOP https://www.yelp.com/biz/the-dolar-sh…

HUTAOLI https://www.yelp.com/biz/hutaoli-musi…

SANSHI RICE NOODLE https://www.yelp.com/biz/sanshi-rice-…

1 Like

I’d like to eat at Sanshi Noodle - it looks delicious. I can’t afford the Dolar Shop, and I’m too old and unhip for Hutaoli.

2 Likes

RESTAURANTS:

Llahsa https://www.yelp.com/biz/lhasa-tibeta…

Cha Kee https://www.yelp.com/biz/cha-kee-new-…

Sobak https://www.yelp.com/biz/sobak-new-yo…

Awesum Dim Sum https://www.yelp.com/biz/awesum-dimsu…

Meat and Bread https://www.yelp.com/biz/meat-and-bre…

NSA Noodle Bar https://www.yelp.com/biz/nsa-noodle-b…

Mochinut https://www.yelp.com/biz/mochinut-eas…

Dumpling Lab https://www.yelp.com/biz/dumpling-lab…

8282 https://www.yelp.com/biz/8282-new-york-2

TKK X Kung Fu Tea https://www.yelp.com/biz/tkk-fried-ch…

Momofuku Noodle Bar

Arabica

Min Sushi

1 Like

Upscale in NY Chinatown begining at about the 11:00 mark. Earlier in the video are South Seaport and Lower East Side restaurants and takeout:

1 Like

I’ve been to every LES & Chinatown place in there except for Sunday to Sunday. They’re all good, but none of them are remotely hidden. Dimes is a hangout for models, for heavens sake, and Donut Plant is on every LES tour ever. I feel ripped off!

1 Like

There’s a one-minute ad from the 2:30 to 3:30 mark.

from YouTube:

PLACES WE WENT

Mott Street Eatery https://www.yelp.com/biz/mott-street-…

DOMO SUSHI https://www.yelp.com/biz/domo-sushi-n…

Joy Palace Dimsum https://www.yelp.com/biz/house-of-joy…

HK Wonton Garden https://www.yelp.com/biz/h-k-wonton-g…

Sam’s Fried Ice Cream https://www.yelp.com/biz/sams-fried-i…

Hou Yi hot pot https://www.yelp.com/biz/hou-yi-hot-p…

New Cameron Bakery https://www.yelp.com/biz/new-cameron-…

Food Station https://www.yelp.com/biz/food-station…

Don Juan Grocery https://www.yelp.com/biz/don-juan-gro…

Milk and Cream Cereal Bar https://www.yelp.com/biz/milk-and-cre…

Hot Mini Cakes https://www.yelp.com/biz/hot-mini-cak…

Dim Sum Palace https://www.yelp.com/biz/dim-sum-pala…

Harpers Bread House https://www.yelp.com/biz/harpers-brea.

1 Like
1 Like
Help cover Hungry Onion's costs when you shop at Amazon!

Honghe Hani Rice Terraces, Yuanyang County, Yunnan
Credit: inkelv1122, Flickr