Fudge?

Hi,

Newbie here!

I see different fudge recipes made with chocolate and also some made by replacing chocolate by coco powder? Which is the real way ?

Consider these two different fudge recipes:

Recipe #1
Condensed milk
Chocolate chips
Butter

Recipe #2
Condensed milk
Coco powder
Sugar
Butter

Both of them generate a fudge. But which one is really the authentic way of making fudge ?

Thanks

1 Like

Authentic? There are probably as many fudge recipes as there are confectioners! They’re all delish as long as you don’t scorch the pan.

1 Like

Hi mts, Hey I thank you very much for replying to my question.

If I may ask you, I have a 2nd question.

First, I am using the 2nd recipe and I am looking for a hard snap fudge. I am looking to make a fudge where when you press your finger on it with significant force, your finger doesn’t sink in the fudge.

So I have done the recipe but the inside doesn’t look quite smooth as a fudge should look like. It looks more of a dry cookie composition but not crumbly! Actually quite good and tasty.

Here is the recipe:

Powdered Sugar 150g
Corn syrup 1 tbsp
Condensed milk: 130g
Water: 15g
Cocoa powder 30g

While stirring the mixture in the pot I bring all the ingredients (except the Cocoa powder) to 118C, and then I add the Cocoa powder and mix some more.

I was hoping for a more smoother composition. I’m a little confused as to whether I should be stirring the sugars as they heat up to 118C while they boil?? (If I don’t stir them, the bottom of pot burnsMan shrugging: light skin tone :man_shrugging_tone1:).

Also once the mixture reaches 118C and add in the Cocoa powder, do I remove the pot from the heat or continue heating it as I mix the Cocoa with the rest of the sugars ?

Anyways a little confused with all this…. I would really appreciate any tip that you can give me !

Thanks so much
Rob

Hi, Rob, and welcome to Hungry Onion.