Forkish book: Flour Water Salt Yeast and flat bread

Hey all,

I am a newbie at breadmaking, and have been doing it from Forkish’s book after recs that it was a good basic book.

I’ve tried the Sat white and wheat, the white overnight, and the white with poolish. So far, flavor is pretty good and I’m learning how not to scorch the bottom of the loaf. But 1 problem I haven’t been able to solve so far is that my bread is cooking short and wide. i can’t get the loaves to be taller than about 3-4 inches at their high spot.

In googling, I’ve seen that some folks say this may be caused by a wet dough, overproofing, or using AP flour. However, if you’ve worked with the Forkish book, he is all about wet dough and AP rather than higher protein flours. As for overproofing, my kitchen is on the cool side in winter - usually about 66, so I proof until I get triple volume like he says. It usually takes at least an hour or two longer than his estimates.

What else can I do differently to get a higher, less wide loaf?

And as a secondary question, is there a good white sandwich bread recipe out there that isn’t artisanal - just slice and go? I don’t have a breadmaker or a pullman loaf (just regular loaf pan). But something like a pan de mie?

Thanks a bunch all.

I haven’t cooked from this book so I can’t comment on the recipes specifically.

As far as a squat loaf goes … two thoughts come to mind

1. forming the final loaf - (again not knowing the dough from the recipes) if you don’t do the final ball formation “right” the dough has a tendency to spread. Be sure to get a nice taught surface. But with a 3 hour final rise (as you suggest might be the case) that might not fix things.