Chili Prep in Advance?

I’m making chili tomorrow. I do it with typical spices, onions, garlic, peppers, beans, and tomatoes.

While I have never done this before… I am considering throwing together all of the above, and popping it into the fridge overnight. Then cooking the meat in the morning and adding it all to the crockpot.

Will the time in the fridge allow for more flavor development, or would this somehow be a mistake? I prefer doing my chili on low for 6 hours.

I have a number of dishes which are clearly marked: make day in advance.
chili is one of those - actually a two day advance as I start with dried beans.

brown the meat, make the chili, put it all together, simmer 2-3 hours.
chill overnight, reheat 2-3 hours next day.

I don’t think you’re going to get more flavor development really since chili is such a long slow cook anyway . . .but I don’t think you’ll hurt anything either.

I agree with HO above too - chili is always good reheated, so you could cook it the day before then reheat.

1 Like

Honestly, if you are going to start a day ahead, make the chili itself the day ahead. Then let it cool and hang out in the fridge overnight. The flavors will have more opportunity to develop in this scenario than putting the raw ingredients together to mingle uncooked. Chili, like pretty much all stews, is better in the next day or two.

1 Like

I get that the finished chili is better the next day or two (or even from frozen), but that is not what I was asking. My question was about doing everything other than the meat ahead of time so I could expedite things the next day.

So I just finished prepping/mixing everything but meat and placed it in the fridge. I’ll see how it turns out tomorrow. Unfortunately my Safeway order substituted SM tomatoes for out of stock Cento’s… hopefully that won’t be an issue.