Caribbean island favorites?

I booked a 9 day cruise on Norwegian Cruise Lines ship the Norwegian Pearl to get a bit of an idea of what a couple Caribbean islands are like and i have to admit, cruise ships have way too many people on them for this to be a good idead for me!
Road Town in the British Virgin Islands was the first place that really got my attention, i got a scallops app and a seafood chowder at Bamboushay near the port and they both were pretty good.

Being a huge Patrick O’Brian fan i had to stop in to Pusser’s for a shot of Pusser’s Rum, water and lime. Kind of a deconstructed grog. I cheated and added ice and it was pretty good!

I am still learning how to most efficiently download fotos from my phone to Hungry Onion so these photos may be out of order.

Pussers Rum is outstanding!

![20231213_105653|525x700]
(upload://he7dHcBEQnakQhMn7uusvPVgIVt.jpeg)
![20231213_111743|700x429]
(upload://n8N8bLtTO8LCT9KbZwh6xhjQZUA.jpeg)

The ale is the Dutch Blonde ale at the Dutch Blonde Bar in Philipsburg on St. Maarten, great bar, good ale!
The one of the ship sailing into the rainstorm is my ship, though.
I was in a pharmacy waiting for my home pharmacist to fax the prescription i ran out of to the pharmacy in St. Thomas when the NCL rep called to let me know the ship was leaving in 3 minutes.
Needless to say, i am still in St. Thomas, but it turned out well. An old favorite hangout, The Green Iguana, had a room and United is getting me to Fort Lauderdale tmrw. My luggage will arrive in Miami on the 18th.

12 Likes

I never tire of hearing your travel adventures! What are the great-looking fried things?

2 Likes

Voodoo shrimp at Lazy Lizard! Delicious! I think they cook them in muffin tins. Philipsburg on Dutch side of St Maarten! Great pub!

3 Likes

I got to attend a Christmas Street Festival but unfortunately the first couple hours were in the middle of a huge rain shower.