Bread Flour and Vital Wheat Gluten: Rendundant?

Am planning to make a no-knead-style Rye loaf for Reuben sandwiches (am also corning a brisket). I have King Arthur Bread Flour, and am thinking something like a 25-30% portion of rye flour (Bob’s Red Mill) and instant yeast. I also have Gold Medal AP flour.

At the supermarket I grabbed a bag of vital wheat gluten, as I’ve read that rye needs a protein boost, but I notice rye-bread recipes pointing to AP flour with vital wheat gluten. So, is using VWG with bread flour called for, or redundant? I only need a bit of VWG, and that pound bag cost $10, so I might return it if it’s not really needed.

I think your instinct that you don’t need to supplement gluten is correct, but I’m no pro bread baker. Curious to see educated responses.

3 Likes

Whats the protein content of the flour?

KA all purpose is 11.7% protein

KA bread flour is 12.7%

KA whole wheat is 13.2%

KA high-gluten is a whopping 14.2% (im guessing this almost has to be machine kneaded!)

From the KA website, “A tablespoon or two added to whole wheat, rye, oatmeal, or other whole-grain breads strengthens structure while lightening texture and promoting a good rise. Vital wheat gluten will absorb moisture from the dough; you may need to adjust the dough’s consistency by adding another tablespoon of water.”

3 Likes

You may get a tiny bit less loft without the gluten, but using only 25% rye flour really won’t make much difference. I wouldn’t bother with it.

2 Likes

I’ve used KA High-Gluten Flour. It is indeed pretty tough stuff. Suited to NY-style bagels, I think. Over-high protein for pizza and most breads. IMO.

The high-protein of KA Whole Wheat I’ve found not to offset the gluten-shearing qualities of whole wheat bran shards, so one still needs some boost—admixture of white flour, or vital wheat gluten, etc.

1 Like