BBQ-Lockhart, TX and nearby

Hello, Texas BBQ friends:

I just booked a BBQ trip with my kid (albeit a 31 year old kid) for late January staying in Lockhart, TX! Re the 3 famous Lockhart BBQ favorite(s) what specific meats at each restaurant? (In addition to Black’s, Smitty’s and Kreuz I’ve also been hearing good things about the newer Barb’s BBQ.)

We’ll have a car so we’ll likely hit la BBQ in Austin first on the way from the airport. What great BBQ joints are not a long drive (around 45 minutes) from Lockhart. A friend recommended Valentina’s in Buda which isn’t far. Other suggestions?

I’m far from an expert but have eaten at La BBQ in Austin when it was still a trailer and Cooper’s in Llano many many years ago.

Anyway all suggestions really appreciated, really looking forward to our trip and happy holidays to all!

4 Likes

My experiences and favs are dated - I haven’t been up that way in about 15 years vs. sometimes going up twice a month a long time ago. You’re asking about the old line places — I can speak to those but none of the newer ones.

My first choice in Lockhart would be the brisket at Black’s. I like everything there but the brisket is best, sausage perhaps least impressive. IGNORE THE SIDES - it’s all institutional-quality stuff - don’t waste space in your tummy.

Kreuz - most impressive cooking area. To walk into that pit room is something. Per the meat, in retrospect, everything at Kreuz is overseasoned. Not so badly that you can’t get it down, but more than it needs to be. A rule I concocted - if you reach for the seasoning shaker or salt shaker at Kreuz to ‘perk a dish up,’ it’s a sign you’ve had enough for the day and should stop. Hard to pick their best offering.