Backyard chickens

I have been debating for a few years whether or not to keep backyard chickens, mostly leaning towards not to do it for now. Here are some pros cons that I heard so far. Anyone has real life experience that they can share?

Pros:

• Fresh eggs
  • Companionship
  • Can educate family on the cycle of food raising.

Cons:

• Time consuming
  • Costly
  • Not very clean
  • Willingness to keep the ladies long after they are done producing.
  • Male chicks as warmth generator from some bad companies selling chicks.

Do read this funny but informative article: http://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2009/09/28/the-it-bird

There are many blogs by chicken-keepers. I once toyed with, but gave up on, the idea after reading about the effort and expense. Fortunately, I live close enough to a poultry farm to splurge on pastured eggs now and then.

I was seriously considering raising chickens 7 years ago. It really isn’t that cost effective if eggs are your main objective.
Plus there are issues of keeping them safe from predators. Hawks are a big problem if the chickens range out of a protected area. Coyotes, raccoon ,fox, weasels, snakes, rats…all are pretty clever about finding ways into a coop.

They are good at eating bugs though! Although I hear guinea hens are better. A friend had several tick infested acres. Since she got guinea hens they rarely find ticks.