Atlanta GA eats?

Will be in Atlanta in early June; it has been forever since I was here so I have no good idea where to go for interesting regional food. We’ll be staying downtown but I have a car and great desire to sample foods of the SE. I’m a retired teaching chef, living in the SW, with a passion for regional dishes. God knows it need not be fahncy, just delicious.

1 Like

Engineers, would-be and proven: are likely to advise:

http://www.thevarsity.com/

I was in ATL last June. While there’s not much here (yet) you’re going to find a ton of stuff online. And ATL’s public transpo has gotten great. I’d be disinclined to drive. ATL traffic is outrageously awful.

1 Like

Cath, I’ve been all over the net and found several spots that sound interesting. By any chance, did you eat at White Oak Kitchen? Watershed on Peachtree? South City Kitchen Midtown? Table & Main in Roswell? Revival in Decatur? All of these seem to feature updated Southern food.
Oddly enough, on TripAdvisor, the #1 spot was Aviva by Kameel - a Middle Eastern food court spot in a mall… odd, to say the least.

1 Like

On a trip to a craft fair at Stone Mountain, 2- 3 years ago, the locals recommended the Metro Café Diner, 1905 Rockbridge Rd., Stone Mountain. They also have a location at 229 Peachtree St., Ste B-17, Atlanta. What we found was a decadent cake dessert selection, where the slices are 10 feet high (OK, I exaggerate) with multiple layers of frostings or jams… just eye-popping and delicious. We have wanted to get back there ever since. The food there, other than the desserts, was very good diner fare (don’t know how inviting that might be for a retired teaching chef, though), as I recall, but obviously my main memory is the cake temptations. Their website: http://www.metrocafediner.com/

2 Likes