A Nice Hot Bowl of Gundruk (Nepalese) in Bethesda

This is my first time seeing gundruk on a menu. At Maya Cuisine about a block away from Round House Theatre.

Gundruk is a soup made from an assortment of dried green leaves. The soup here comes out as a small, very thick and spicy bowl filled with a lot of chewy leaves and stems combined with soybeans, ginger, coriander and other spices. It’s a potent, very delicious concoction that is also very salty, but the rest of the ingredients hold up well to the hit of salt.

Along with the soup, I ordered keema naan, which came out a lot softer and fluffier than I would have thought. Nicely spiced keema made this a hearty treat. Was a great accompaniment to the gundruk. And the two together made for a filling, cheap meal.

From another website:
Gundruk is probably the most popular and loved food in Nepal. It is very authentic to Nepal and enjoyed by all ethnic communities in Nepal from terai, hills to mountains. It is dried fermented leafy vegetables, made generally from mustard green leaves (rayo ko saag), radish leaves (mula ko saag), cauliflower leaves (cauli ko paat). In Nepal, when we have excess these leafy vegetables before winter, we usually put them in clay pots for a week or more to ferment, and later sun-dried, which can be store for a year or more.

7 Likes

I never encountered grundruk in Nepal and that makes me sad because it sounds delicious and hearty; ie, right up my alley. I wonder if it’s eaten in the mornings. There were many mornings when a cozy bowl of soup would have been welcomed.

1 Like

we have quite a few Nepalese places in the DC area, and it’s the first I’ve heard of it. Maybe the website I quoted is overly enthusiastic?

2 Likes

We’re heading to DC in mid-February for our now-annual trip. I’m going to try to work in a Nepali meal if the guys are amenable.

1 Like

I’m wondering what the color comes from? That is a deep, dark, rich-looking stew. Yum.

1 Like