Starter - questions on recipes adaptation

Hi, when dealing with recipes using only fresh or dry yeast, how do one incorporate starter, do you change the proportion of yeast if you add starter.

Since I’m quite new with starter, I’m still trying to understand, for example for a bread recipe requesting 500 g bread flour, 8 g dry yeast, 300g water, 12 g salt. It didn’t ask for sourdough starter, but if I add 125g of starter without adjusting anything, am I right or wrong? Also, what is the proportion if I want to replace completely the yeast by starter in this case?

Thanks everybody.

Starter replaces the dry yeast. Starter is the sourdough yeast you have developed.

I also see many recipes have a combination of dry/fresh yeast accompanying starter. That’s the base of my questions.

Can you share an example because I have not run across a sourdough bread recipe that uses both.

This is my go to, including the sourdough starter instructions.

For a standard loaf of bread, I use dry yeast; no starter.

Ok, I found the purpose but I have never tried it and was taught it wasn’t necessary if the fermenting was done at the right temperature conditions. NJ is too cold now for starter unless I warm up the container the yeast is proofing in.

I’m taking an example from my new bread book Larousse du pain. For 3 x 300g breads (la gâche), I’ll try my best to translate to English.

• 500g coarse bread flour (T65)
  • 350g of water 20ºC / 68ºF
  • 100g of starter (levain liquid) or 25g of dry yeast
  • 3g of fresh yeast
  • 10g of salt

Mix everything either by mixer or by hand, knead until the dough is elastic and smooth.

Cover with a moist tea towel and let the dough rest for 1.5 hour

Divide the dough into 3 parts, shape the dough and let it rest for another 30 minutes, covered with moist tea towel.

Flatten the raised dough to 15 cm / 6 in diameter and let it rest for a further 1.5 hour.