Peruvian Aji Amarillo

Aji Amarillo, a Peruvian chili pepper, is a species lees commonly grown outside of Peru: Capsicum baccatum. Despite it’s name (amarillo=“yellow”), the long, pointed peppers are typically orange to orange-red. I’ve been growing these peppers for many years, in Virginia, USA and would like to share information to those struggling to grow this most wonderful pepper. In Peru, it is typically referred to simply as “aji”, and so when I truncate the name, you’ll know what I mean.

Before the growing details are explored, perhaps it’s good to know a bit more about what this pepper is used for and why it’s so popular. First, Aji Amarillo, in the fresh state, is unlike any pepper out there. You can control how hot it is by leaving more or less of the pale septum (“veins”) and core. Seeds are best removed, even if one wants to use the core. Seeds are gritty, sometimes bitter, and, contrary to some myths, do not add to flavor or heat. Any heat they contain is due to proximity to the “placenta”/ core, which can pack a capsaicin punch!

The flavor is clean, with a grapefruit like component. If one cuts out sections of pepper void of septa or core, it’s easier to taste this. It’s used raw, cooked or dried. While many Peruvian dishes use Aji, one of the most famous is a sauce made from pureed Aji mixed with fresh and/or feta cheeses. Hundreds of variations exist on Salsa a la Huancaina, but most of the authentic ones require Aji Amarillo, also known as “Escabeche”, named after its use in a famous group of marinated “pickled” dishes. Flavor, that’s the reason to grow it!

Sadly, fresh Aji is very scarce in the USA. There are several reasons for this. The plants need a very long growing season to size up and produce well. I start seeds, under lights, in early Feb., to plant out in May. During this time, the seedlings can get quite large and require larger pots than other peppers.