[Penang, Malaysia] Nyonya cuisine at 𝗖𝗲𝗸𝗶, Sri Bahari Road

Ceki Nyonya Restaurant is one of a trio of relatively new Nyonya cuisine restaurants that have sprung up on the Sri Bahari Road dining precinct the past few months. The other two - Baba Phang and Bibik’s Kitchen - also offer about the same spread of Penang-Nyonya items as Ceki, but with subtle variances in cooking styles and recipes used.

Francis Tee, owner-chef of Ceki, is a self-taught cook who scoured his family’s heirloom recipes, many from the grandmother of his wife, Esther Tan, for some very good interpretations of Nyonya home-cooking dishes which he offered here.

Our lunch here consisted of:

1. Inchi Kabin - this is a Penang-Nyonya classic of chicken pieces marinated overnite in spices and coconut milk, before being deep-fried to order and served crisp & hot, with prawn crackers and a saucer of Worcestershire sauce with cut, red chilis on the side as a dip.

2. Perut Ikan - another Penang-Nyonya classic: fermented fish innards stewed in a strong, pungent, herbal, sour-sweet-spicy stew redolent of wild betel leaves (Malay: daun kadok), Vietnamese mint (Malay: daun kesum), mint and other aromatic leaves, sprinkled with pink torch-ginger, flavoured with pineapples & tamarind, and with eggplant, long beans and shrimps for extra textures.

1. Tau Yu Bak - this is a common homecooked dish: soy-braised pork belly, which varies from one family to another. The Tee family’s rendition is thicker and sweeter than my own family’s. Their rendition also includes tofu, which most versions would not have. Tasty nonetheless.

2. Nyonya Otak-otak - I rather disliked the version here as the spicy fish mousse was steamed in a bowl, instead of being wrapped in banana leaves and steamed, as is traditionally done. Tastewise, it was okay, though not the best around.