Thin shiny crust brownie

I have some leftover chocolate powder at home, made Alice Medrich’s brownie, highly recommended by @Rooster a while ago. It was okay, I baked it longer than the time indicated, but didn’t have the thin shiny crust I was looking for. (It had a dull matte surface). I re-examined the recipe photo, it didn’t have that thin sheet of crust like the photo below. I’m no brownie expert, made maybe 3 times in my life, wandering if one needs higher temperature to achieve this?

Is a thin crust reserved for cakey and not fudgy brownie? TIA.

(photo credit: https://www.seriouseats.com/bravetart-glossy-fudge-brownies)

1 Like

I think the glossy crust has more to do with the fat used (oil vs butter) than the overall texture. Brownies from a box, which nearly always call for oil, also nearly always have that thin glossy layer on top. The Serious Eats link you included also mentions that the way the eggs are whipped contributes to the top layer.

4 Likes

The recipe from Tartine always gives me that crust. I have read a lot about this topic and I dont think there is a scientific consensus yet. The popular theories are that it’s melted chocolate, whipped egg meringueness, or dissolved sugar. I have empirically found the crust forms less with just cocoa powder. (Versus chocolate or cocoa/chocolate combination)

Further reading: https://www.thepancakeprincess.com/2018/05/14/best-brownie-bake-off/

2 Likes

Now you mentioned Tartine… Napa Valley’s Model bakery achieved this close enough. Made this long time ago.

1 Like

My favorite recipe.

I don’t recall where I read this, but I do distinctly recall reading it - white sugar gives you the crackly, glossy crust, turbinado (or natural or anything with some molasses) does not.

This proved true when I made them over and over, so I now I stock regular white sugar just for baking.