Soleil Ho's South Asian List [San Francisco Bay Area]

I don’t know a lot of the places on the list, but I was surprised to see Vik’s Chaat and the O’Farrell branch of Pakwan. Both are firmly third-rate.

It’s odd that the entries for these places in the list say nothing at all about the quality of the food itself - which in the case of Vik’s is simply dismal, and in the case of that Pakwan location throughly unreliable.

1 Like

When has the last time you have been to Viks? I haven’t been in a long time and was going to stop by when I was in the area next week.

About 2 years ago. Terrible. I think 25 years ago people who’d never had good Indian food made it popular, along with the perceived “street food” vibe. Those are the only explanations I can come up with for its popularity.

I like Vik’s a lot though I haven’t been in awhile. I am a chaat noob though. From what I remember it is a step above some of the few other chaat places I’ve been to like Chaat Corner in SF. Maybe I just haven’t been to a good chaat place. At Vik’s I especially liked their balloon-like bhatura, the dahi batata puri, and their kathi rolls and stuffed roti.

Chaat Corner isn’t any good either. But I disagree that Vik’s is a step up.

Still, everyone has their own preferences, so I’ll try not to be too strident about it.

I know Chronicle has readership all over the Bay Area, so they probably have to include restaurants from everywhere. If its me, I’ll just put out a list for the South Bay and call it a day.

Zareen’s isn’t strictly South Indian either. I say they are pan-Indian-Pakistani. Some dishes like Nihari is Pakistani, which is really far from South India. Ettan is more Cal-Indian.