Smokehouse Grille, Wall - BBQ [NJ]

New Monmouth Cty BBQ alert. Smokehouse Grille in Wall (the former Stewarts spot on Rt. 33 E near the Rt. 34/33 circle) opened this past weekend. The renovated Stewarts space looks really nice. Smoker on site. Stopped in for just a taste of a few items - brisket (advertised as Texas style), sausage link and pulled chicken, mac & cheese and corn bread. I’m no BBQ expert, but the brisket was tasty and the best of what we sampled. The pulled chicken at Local Smoke is superior (it’s also my favorite item on Local Smoke’s menu). The mac & cheese was above average. For now, the menu items are meats by the pound and a few sandwiches. No combo plates, but was told that may be coming, as well as burnt ends. The restaurant has maintained some type of licensing/franchise agreement with Stewarts. The Stewarts name is on the store sign and not only is Stewarts root beer in a frosted mug available, there is a limited Stewarts food menu on offer. There are also a dozen or so hot dogs available (each with different toppings). As this is now my closest to home bbq option, I’m sure to sample more of the menu.

3 Likes

Interesting. It is cool to see another BBQ spot. More competition is better for us. How would you compare this to JSBBQ?

This is awesome… I just drove by this place yesterday on my way home from the outlets. I was just wondering if this is place is a legit BBQ joint.

I don’t know nothing about them but this is a good deal while it lasts! Someone take advantage of it and report back!!

1 Like

Thinking about it, is this the old Stewart’s location? I thought someone posted it closed?

I believe there is some info and maybe a thread on this already

my bad!!! I will merge the two. Thanks for the heads up.

I drove by here this morning and I think I might have to give it a shot.

Jr do you have any details on the special? Do you print it out or use your phone, take out or dine in? Sorry if i missed the details.