Leftover rice

What to make with leftover rice ? I have been making basmati rice lately for dinner . The next day I end up giving the leftovers to the blue jays . Any ideas. I really dislike fried rice . Thanks

Do you not prefer just eating it? I cook a batch of rice in the evening, and reheat the rest for lunch the next day.

Or you can make congee. Just add water, ginger, scallion (ETA: and boil). I never made it with basmati, however.

2 Likes

Don’t know I’m new to rice. I’m a potato fan.

The best fried rice is made with leftover rice that has been “harden” a bit with the fridge. Slice some garlic, shallot or onion, cook them in a non stick pan, chop in some meat in small pieces (leftover is fine even better), or small shrimps, or cha siu or ham or bacon etc. You can add some vegetables like peas and mushrooms or chopped lettuce. Add the rice, add oil if necessary, rise the heat slight, stir everything quickly and often, crack an egg to finish it, add salt and pepper to taste and continue stirring for another minute. Sprinkle the rice with chopped spring onion or other herbs.

4 Likes

Stuffed prppers, stuffed avocado, cold rice salad just refresh with fresh herbs and protein. I typically fry an egg and enjoy it over warmed leftover rice.

2 Likes

I had quite a lot of Omu Rice in S Korea (Fried rice wrapped in an omelette). If you don’t like fried rice I’d mix the rice with kimchi, wrap in a thin omelette and then season with hoisin sauce on top.

You could freeze it for another meal. Just don’t leave it sitting round too long for you might get food poisoning.

Some ideas:

• Arancini or some kind of balls.
  • Fritters
  • Stuff it in vegs, cabbage rolls/parcels.
  • Portuguese chicken soup (with lemon juice and rice).
  • Kimchi rice (but I don’t think you eat kimchi)
  • Nori wraps (I enjoyed kimbap in Korea)

That’s all I can come up with. I don’t have this “dilemma” as I hardly eat rice at home.

1 Like