Eating and Drinking Greek Style!

Thought I’d start a thread on Greek food, how we enjoy it in Greece or more to the point, how we cook it at home or enjoy it at Greek Tavernas or Festivals. My partner is 100% Greek and over the years I’ve learned a lot as well as had fun cooking with others for large gatherings. The partner actually does the most cooking these days. His food is delicious & the range of pastries not too shabby. Please keep in mind that while knowledgeable I am not an expert and want to keep the history and politics out of the topic. Just want it to be casual. OPA!

6 Likes

Opa!

My family is also Greek; I’m second generation. Mom was an excellent cook, and we had Greek dishes maybe three or four times a week at home. I remember midweek dishes like youvetsi (fork-tender braised lamb with orzo in tomato sauce, yorvatlakia (meatballs with rice simmered in chicken broth with avgolemono), simple grilled fish on Fridays, leg of lamb and pilafi (oven-baked rice) on Sundays, souvlakia on the outdoor grill in summertime. Yiayia was a master baker. For one day at Christmas and Easter, she somehow was able to bake several kinds of cookies and breads, keeping all of the batches separate and measuring ingredients with her hands and coffee cups. She also made incredibly good pastistio and spanokopita.

It’s disappointing to me that, here in the Bay Area, there aren’t that many Greek restaurants. I occasionally cook up some of those dishes. I’ve yet to duplicate the creamy avgolemono, though.

5 Likes

“drininking” - you got that right LOL

1 Like

Lol :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye: