Cuisine in [Elizabeth, NJ]

Hi all! I’ve been working in Elizabeth for a few months and have been attempting to uncover the food scene here.

When I first started, I asked my coworkers where the lunch was at, and they kind of gave me a ghost-like expression implying they’d never left the office.

As I began to research more and more, I found it hard to really find anyone discussing the food scene in Elizabeth. I found a few fringe and outdated topics on various forums, but nothing really substantial.

I’ve since been trying to map out all of the food spots I’ve been meaning to try, and compiled them all in a google sheet spreadsheet by cuisine and by neighborhood in Elizabeth.

When it comes to cuisine, especially South American food, Elizabeth is quite expansive in offerings. There are 20+ Colombian restaurants, 20+ Peruvian restaurants, 20+ Portuguese restaurants, and plenty of others represented such as Uruguayan, Brazilian (nearby in Hillside), Venezuelan, Cuban, Mexican, Ecuadorian, and Caribbean/Central American countries as well.

Obviously it would be exhaustive for me to go into detail about all of them, but I thought I would post occasional updates about good feeds I’ve had, and recommendations if anyone ever happens to be in the area as they happen.

I’ll start with a short suggestion of a lunch I had the other day:
Alabrasa’s Cafe in Linden, NJ.
Venezualan
Known for their stuffed arepas, cachapas, and shredded beef and chicken dishes. I saw their menu online and on Facebook and saw some crazy creations such as the YoYo (deep fried sweet plaintain sandwich) and had to come and try.

I ended up ordering a Pernil YoYo, the bread layer is deep fried sweet plaintains, inside filled with pernil, two kinds of cheese, sauce, lettuce. It was incredible.

8 Likes

In Elizabeth, Yoly’s Cuban is very nice. I had their Bistec Palomilla with some croquetas and everything was tasty. Only been here once but very nice people and seems to be quality food.