Crumbs and sweets, your making Jan - Feb 2022

Another year!! Looking forward for all the goodies you’ll be making this year: breads, cakes, cookies, confection, custards, gelatos, snacks…

:yum: :ice_cream: :cake: :cupcake: :moon_cake: :pancakes: :cake: :bread: :baguette_bread: :croissant: :candy: :cookie:

1 Like

Some cream puffs to start the new year!

16 Likes

Nice!!

1 Like

Really pretty too @Elsieb!

1 Like

I just acquired a new copy of Bravetart - Stella Parks. I am a novice baker and still wrapping my head around the sheer quantity of flour/butter/sugar/eggs that every recipe seems to use. That said, the books is highly regarded. I would love to hear your favorite dessert recipes from it that would be good for a beginner. I’m inclined to start with the blondies unless someone has a different suggestion. Until then, I am awaiting my amazon order with a bunch of the special ingredients that I didn’t have.

Hi Sasha. I’ve tried several of Stella Parks recipes from seriouseats with great results, though they can be complicated! I’d suggest that you take a look at the comments on Bravetart on eatyourbooks.com - just looked, and there are 179 notes on various recipes from people who’ve tried them. I think that you can access those without a paid membership ( though it’s not expensive and a great resource). Happy baking!

3 Likes

That sounds overwhelming! Every time I choose one of her sweets I’m about to make, I realize there is some ingredient for it that I don’t have. The latest realization is coconut extract. But if I can find it at the store today, then I think I’m making her Italian wedding cookies tonight :slight_smile:

Not overwhelming at all! The comments are organized by recipe, very easy to use. I often turn to eatyourbooks when looking through a new cookbook to get some sense of what others have liked, what’s worked, what’s not worth the effort etc. Enjoy the cookies!