Cake pan question

I bought these cake pans, and it seems to me (after the fact, of course) that the bottom part may need a water bath or something to keep that part from overbaking . The pan is, of course, upside down in the photo. Does anybody have any experience with this type of pan or should I just use it as a jello mold?

cake pans

@ewsflash, although I have no direct experience with a type of pan like that, after my years of baking, I’d be inclined to bake a test “batch” filling just one of the wells. I’d then bake at the recommended temp and use a toothpick or skewer to test for test for doneness. For the 1st trial one, I wouldn’t use a water bath. If you’re not happy with the tester sample, I would then try the water bath. Good luck and please report back!

Another thought would be to reduce the temperature 25 degrees and bake it longer to ensure doneness of the three layers.

1 Like

How big are these? I’m guessing about 4” at the widest part, 2” at the small tier?

If you’re baking a typical cake I wouldn’t recommend a water bath, that would be too much insulation and it wouldn’t brown.

I’d say try it as-is, if the small part over-bakes, try wrapping that part of the pan in wadded up aluminum foil or wet newspaper.

I have magi-cake cloth strips that are supposed to prevent the outsides of cake layers from over-baking before the center is done, you get them wet and wrap them around the pan. So something in that vein could help. Do you happen to have silicone muffin cups?

2 Likes

I use foil “sleeves” to slow down cooking - you could try wrapping the bottom one or two tiers in different amounts of folded over foil to conteol the temp gradation.

3 Likes

Size is about right.